No announcement yet.

2011 BC Autoslalom Championship Recap and Results


  • 2011 BC Autoslalom Championship Recap and Results

    The weekend started out with the news we'd been waiting to hear for so long. Long time motor sports advocate, Andy Field, visited the event to announce a major expansion of the driving centre site, doubling the useable space for motor sports activities. 98 drivers greeted the news with cheers and applause before getting down to the business of racing.

    Twenty-six drivers in the popular street touring group (Non-Stock 4) were sent out to clean the course. It was all about the dueling white ST Civics as local driver Roger Tang and Shane Jensen of Woodinville, WA went to battle, with Shane edging Roger by a half second. The Top Novice title was also awarded to a driver in this group. Joseph Neaime of Surrey took the rookie honours and a set a Kumho tires in his STU Suburu WRX STi.

    In the equally popular Stock 2 group (BS, CS, and ES), the Honda S2000's rose to the top with Ambrose Fung of Calgary, Alberta leading the charge, staying ahead of Alex Ho of Richmond and fellow Albertans Reijo Silvennoinen and Ryan Clark. Ambrose also grabbed the Top Gun title and a set of Kumho tires by claiming the top overall indexed time. On the other side of the grid, the roar of V8s erupted over the buzz of high-revving Hondas. Ron Cridland of Kelowna, fresh off a win at the National Tour, walked away from the Non-Stock 1 (ASP, BSP, ESP) field in his ESP Audi RS4.

    In Stock 1 (SS, AS, FS), visiting driver, Arthur Chan from London, UK, hopped into an SS Lotus Elise and earned a one second lead over co-driver Carol Wong to win the group. The Non-Stock 3 group, home to an assortment of Prepared and Modified cars, was won by the EP Acura Integra piloted by Aaron Schmidt of Oyama, BC. Also in the same heat, Non-Stock 5 (Street Modified *) was the battlefield for the big turbo boys, with Don Nimi of Coquitlam, putting a full second on the rest of the field in his SM Nissan 240SX for the win.

    Over in Stock 3 (DS, GS, HS) action, Mini Coopers were the weapon of choice. Arnold Yee of Richmond edged his co-driver Robert Lu, to win the group. Fastest time of day belonged to Non-Stock 2 driver, Jim McLaughlin from the BC Interior in a CSP Miata, who managed to stay ahead of Vancouver driver Norman Hayton in an FSP Ford Focus by a mere two-tenths. Finally, in the Ladies group ST Civic driver Kimm Jensen of Woodinville, WA captured the win by eight-tenths of a second over Avril Morrison of Victoria in a BS Honda S2000. To sweeten her victory, Kimm also won a set of Kumho Tires in the random draw.

    After the regional championship runs concluded, we moved into the Kumho Tires Shootout where 40 drivers competed for a set of Kumho tires in an elimination style event. Four exciting rounds later, Ambrose Fung once again showcased the skills that helped him capture the Top Gun title by also capturing the shootout champion title.

    Judging by the smiles over the weekend, a fantastic weekend was had by all. The VCMC ELT offers our heartfelt appreciation to all the volunteers, drivers, and sponsors who made the event happen. Thank you all!

    As event chair, I want to say how proud and appreciative I am of the hardworking team of volunteers who worked tirelessly to put this weekend together.

    Vice Chair: Darrin Linders
    Chief of Workers: Katrina Salisbury
    Chief of Timing & Scoring: Zach Wong
    Chief of Grid/Impound: Victor Chow
    Course Designer: Richard Arienzale
    Chief of Tech: Sead Causevic
    Chief of Registration: Louis Law
    Chief of Test and Tune: Dean Chen
    Chief of Logistics: Bill Rhodes
    Chief of Everything Else: Derek Choi
    Electronics Guru: Mitch Burton
    The Gang of Four: Kimber Macwilliams, Fab Renaud, Thomas Jewett, Arthur Chan

    2011 BC Autoslalom Championship Results
    Top Times
    Runs by Group
    Indexed by Group

    2011 Kumho Tires Shootout Results
    Round 1: Top 40
    Round 2: Top 20
    Round 3: Top 10
    Round 4: Top 5
      Posting comments is disabled.





    Latest Articles