Classing my NA Miata

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Classing my NA Miata

Hey guys I am new to the autocross scene and was looking to get into it with my NA Miata. so i wanted to know what class i will be in if i can get my maintenance done before auto x cup 5. My cars current modifications are

cold air intake
    lowering springs
    body kit
    16' wheels
    MOMO steering wheel

So with these modifications what class would i be in and also i wanted to know if i were to modify my exhaust would i still be in the same class or would i get bumped up a class thanks for the help

Re: Classing my NA Miata

Welcome to the club Rory,

I BELIEVE you'd be in STS, someone else should chime in here.

In STS you can also run a modified exhaust (even headers), you do need to run a cat though.

Rich

Comment

OK thank you very much rich for the reply. I also wanted to know if you do three runs/laps are you out of the novice stage or do i need to participate in three events Example: auto x cup 1,2,3 to become a senior so i can have passengers ? thanks

Comment

Hi Rory,

For the remainder of the year you will be classed as a Novice. If you participate in 3 or less EVENTS (not runs) this year, then next year you will be eligible for the Novice group as well.

Novice drivers are not permitted to have a passenger ride with them. The only exception is a senior driver can be a passenger.

We look forward to seeing you at the pad!

Jordan
        Last edited by JValgardson; July 18, 2016, 13:05. Reason: Incorrect Information Regarding Passengers for Novice's

Comment

If we are going absolutely by the book, potentially your Momo steering wheel might not be STS-legal. According to Section 14.2D of the SCCA rulebook: