Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What class am I/ what am I allowed to modify?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What class am I/ what am I allowed to modify?

Hi all, I'm very new to this so any help is greatly appreciated, I'm looking to get into autocross next year, and am wanting to do my research before I start adding bits to my car that would affect me negatively in terms of class, or if it's even deemed legal. I have a 1991 Chevrolet S10 that is stock, It would be quite simple to figure out what class that would be, however, I am looking to change the suspension, put on wider tires, see if I can manage the weight distribution better: relocating the battery and fuel tank as far back as possible, eventually getting fiberglass front fenders and hood, ultimately trying to reduce weight from the front end to help it handle better, as well as doing mods to the engine (intake, headers ect.)

My questions are this:

1) If I'm racing against my own time (obviously I know there will be lots of cars faster than mine), is there any downside to being in certain classes? maybe fewer runs per day, or specific safety equipment needed for specific classes? ie certified roll cage, fire systems, or harnesses ect.

2) Are there certain mods I should stay away from? and why?

Thanks for any and all help!

You are best to google and download the latest SCCA solo rulebook and read through the different classes as running an S10 isn't a common choice. I'll try to answer your questions though...