Several newbish AutoX questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Several newbish AutoX questions

Hey there, I just had a few autocross questions about a few things I'm finding a little confusing. I've been attending VCMC practise events semiregulalrly for the last 2 years, and am just starting to get a little bit more serious about it and wanting to start competing to an extent this year.

First off, whats with all the clubs and organizations? SCCA, CACC, CNAC, VCMC, Solo, BCMA, UBCSCC, etc etc. Talk about some serious alphabet soup, autox is acrynomn crazy, more then just a little confusing. Ok, I'll be more specfic.

1. From what I can tell theres only 2 rulesets in use in these parts, SCCA and CACC. I really liked the CACC rules better, but oh well. Now who runs what rules? Obviously VCMC has gone SCCA (but not fully converted), but VCMC still hosts CACC series events. How are we supposed to build our cars to two different sets of rules if we want to compete in those? Or is it the CACC group that has adopted SCCA rules???

2. Are all events hosted by VCMC this year using SCCA rules? What about the CNAC days in Red Deer? And who is the CNAC??? What about the Kumho Super Challange, what rules are those?

3. I see the Novice Tour Championship days are now listed as NCT/ Club Practise Events (yay, another acryomn to dechiper, got that one at least). So I take it at these events the vets are not allowed to compete, only practise while the novice's times are used for competition? Whats the guidelines used for labeling someone as a novice and allowing them to compete?

4. What do the index numbers mean for our results?

5. UBCSCC and BCMA (and who are they?), what rules do they run? I take it you have to register with them and pay their annual fees as well if you want to compete in all of the CACC championship events. Is VCMC going to continue to host these CACC events?